Pizza Cutter

Doreen’s Pizzeria – Common Questions About the Making of Gluten-Free Pizza

Gluten can be one of life’s guilty pleasures. Primarily found in some of the most exquisite bread, pasta, and pizza, gluten grains are in almost every good dish. However, if you’ve been told at your latest doctor’s appointment that your body’s digestive system can’t take gluten, it can feel like all those good tastes and experiences have come to an end.

It can be a little dramatic, but we would be a little concerned if it means that pizza nights were a no-go anymore. It isn’t recommended to try and test your gluten intolerance and the severity of your celiac disease either just for a slice.

Luckily, there’s an extensive range of gluten-free alternatives in both grocery stores and restaurants that you might want to indulge in. Keep reading if you’re a skeptic or if you’ve heard about gluten-free pizza.

Is It Possible to Have Real Gluten-Free Pizza?

The demand for creating gluten-free pizza potentially came from the increasing population that has celiac disease. Many people also questioned just how healthy gluten could actually be if many people were getting sick from consuming it or having inflammation. Although it’s a case-to-case basis, many wanted to explore a diet that just eliminated gluten.

Pizza just seems like one of those things that seem like it can never be made without gluten. Gluten is a present ingredient in each component, from the crust and the sauce to the cheese and even the toppings when canned. However, there are pizza restaurants that serve genuine and authentic gluten-free pizza that’s safe for any gluten intolerant person to taste.

What Ingredients Are Used for a Gluten-Free Crust?

Gluten is normally present in wheat flour, used for the flour mix in regular tasting pizzas. Wheat flour is usually used for the taste that it brings and the rising effect that it has on bread dough. Many chefs and bakers have found alternatives to swap in place of wheat flour, which would still compensate for the taste and rising effect.

Some of the common types of flour interchanged in the crust’s recipe would be tapioca flour or sorghum flour. Rice flour is also used in the mix because it’s high in fiber while being safe for gluten intolerant people to eat. If there’s any problem with the dough falling apart or changing into an undesired consistency, xanthan gum is mixed in to thicken it up.

What Ingredients Are Used for the Sauce and Cheese?

Generally, most sauces and cheese on pizza don’t have any gluten in them. Most of the ingredients are maintained, with the chef paying heavy attention to the ingredients list. Manufacturers are required to list down whether the preservatives used for a can of tomatoes or a block of cheese contain any gluten-filled items. Wheat, rye, and oats must be specified in the product label.

Toppings are generally the same too, where some may contain some preservatives that would contain gluten. Pepperoni can often be guilty of these, but there are also gluten-free variations of this. If you order from a pizza restaurant and make the request, you can be guaranteed that every piece and part of the box will be free from any gluten.


It’s still possible to enjoy pizza even if you’ve developed gluten intolerance or you were born with it. It doesn’t change the fact that this dish is definitely for everyone and there’s a unique slice just waiting for you.

Looking for Dyer pizza places with gluten-free options? Doreen’s Pizzeria offers 10” Gluten-Free Pizza in our personal pizzas category for those who still want to have a slice. Order today!

Scroll to Top
Skip to content